Hazel's Process Journal

Process Journal for Gathering 2

Gathering Idea:

Spring of 2020, when COVID-19 sent all students home, students faced the difficult task of adjusting to virtual learning and learning from home. As a learning consultant for McGraw, I talk to a lot of students, and I constantly heard that students find it difficult to focus at home. As someone that only studies in libraries, I wanted to do something to combat the problem. After much brainstorming, I decided to create an online library. I got two other learning consultants to flesh out the idea together and set up the details. In two weeks, Afternoons at McGraw began meeting twice a week for three hours at a time. There were around 27 unique attendees, including many that came to every session. We got a lot of positive feedback that it was incredibly helpful to have a sense of studying with others.

When I read the art of gathering, I started to think of ways to further improve the virtual study space. I thought, perhaps adding more structure and taking the lead is not limiting the attendees' freedom. Compared to Afternoons at McGraw, I want this gathering to have a much deeper sense of connection. More interaction with the attendees, for a greater sense of friendship and accountability. In addition, by limiting it to one hour, I'm going to make it a more special occasion that people are excited to attend.